Delayed gratification

I find strength and hope in stories of folks who tried for longer than average (6 months, 12 months, 18?) and eventually had success without major interventions. It helps me believe the concept that it just takes the exact right conditions for everything to work. When I get discouraged, it’s easy to follow the line of thinking that SOMETHING MUST BE TERRIBLY WRONG! I know it’s illogical, irrational, and unproductive, but it’s a slippery slope. I’ve read that 9 months is an average time to try before success. Yet, I come across many “one hit wonders” who, I guess, are just incredibly lucky. I can attest that some of them are not particularly healthy in regards to diet, exercise, drinking, etc., so it’s not such a simple equation of healthy body = high fertility.

So, while I love hearing the amazing stories of short-term success, and I’m delighted when people achieve success through IUI, IVF, medicated cycles, etc., I love to come across candid, transparent stories of people who tried for a year or so until they succeeded. Send me those if you come across them!!

Leave a Reply

