IUI #1, Coming right up!

Well, after about five months off, we’re finally ready to get back to work. To refresh your memory, we started trying in January 2014. Over the last year, we sporadically used a known donor to try at-home ICI’s. There were six or seven tries total. Some were timed pretty well (I think) and others not so much. Nary a BFP was seen. Wanting to shake things up a little bit, we found a new known donor in September of last year, he donated several times for us at an RE’s office near his home in LA, and last month I had my first appointment with that doctor to check out my guts. We got the green light following bloodwork and a dildo-cam photo shoot. Yesterday I had my “monitoring” ultra-sound to see how my uterus garden was growing. RE said my lining looked great, and I had one big juicy egg waiting. At 16.5mm on CD 12, he thought I would ovulate around CD 15 or 16, which is pretty normal for me. I have to admit that it was pretty rewarding to see an egg growing in there – it made the process much more real, in a weird way. The doctor gave me a high five for the egg and lining. Now I’m POAS twice daily waiting for the OPK to turn positive. I’m working in San Diego this week, so I’ll drive up to LA when it’s time. My wife lands in SD on Saturday morning, so we are reeaaaalllly hoping that the egg waits until Sunday…

After the doc does the dirty work, we are packing up and heading for the hills, leaving San Diego in the rear view mirror. I have a job offer in Denver, and I have another interview in Boulder next week. We have rented a condo in Colorado, and I FINALLY get to stop commuting to San Diego every other week. We started the process of moving from San Diego to Boulder when my wife got an irresistable job in mid-September. Though the months have passed fairly smoothly, we are SO ready to close this transitional chapter in our lives. I’ll write about the adventures of having my wife and dogs live with my parents for four months in a future post…

Living in Colorado full-time presents a new problem with TTC, because our sperms are still stuck in LA. If this cycle doesn’t work, we may wait out the final three months of the six-month quarantine and move them to an RE in Colorado. Alternatively, we (I?) might fly out to LA for a try in the meantime, but it sure does get tricky trying to buy flights based on estimated ovulation time, haha. I also won’t have a lot of PTO accrued in a new job. I have a little voice whispering in the back of my mind telling me that I shouldn’t try to get pregnant in the first three months of a new job, because it’s not ideal to take maternity leave during your first year of employment. Though, I do think either potential employer would be accommodating. The job in Denver gives ten weeks, 100% paid paternity leave if you’ve worked there for 2 years. I’m just not willing to wait that long!

So, I’ll just be over here waiting for that second OPK line to show up and packing my last boxes. I hope that those of you in the TWW are staying busy, and a huge congratulations to the BFPs that have been popping up!! I am also loving seeing the squishy little faces of your new additions! So many twins lately – I love it! To the rest of you (us), keep on keepin’ on!

8 responses

  1. I feel your pain when it come to your sperm being so many miles away! Our swimmers (Trying to find a better term, but you get the jist) are about a 9-10 hour drive away. Its hard to pin point a time even when using an OPK never mind the time away from work! But, waiting never feels good so I hope that you have success!! Sending you lots of positive vibes!

  2. Good luck. I hope the iui is exactly what you need. I was in that boat last year. It wasn’t fun, we ended up waiting until std would cover the leave to start trying again. Now I’m pretty much sure I’ll have been at my job about a year and a half before I give birth assuming this cycle works.

  3. What exciting times! I’m sure it’ll be fine to be pregnant right after starting a new job. I have so many friends that have been in that same situation and didn’t have any problems with their new companies. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

