Ironwoman

On Sunday, the wife will embark on her first full-length ironman race. She has spent many months preparing for this event, and she is currently just a little bit anxious. I’m not sure whether her nerves are about wanting to do well or just wanting to finish, but it’s probably a combination of many things. I’m pretty confident she will finish, and I’m also confident that it will be grueling. For those keeping score at home, she will swim 2.5 miles, bike 112 miles, and run 26.2 miles. She hopes to finish under 12 hours, but she would be very pleased to finish closer to 11. Can you imagine “going” for 11 hours? I can’t, but maybe those of you who have experienced labor can, haha. I, myself, have a big day ahead of me as well. I anticipate starting with bagels and mimosas, moving into bloody marys and veggie sandwiches, and likely finishing with a lighter beer, maybe a summer ale or lager. Just kidding. Kind of. I’ll be with her at 4:30 a.m. to get her transition area set up at the start, and watch her come out of the water and get onto the bike around 7:30 a.m. Then I’ll head to my parents’ house, just a few miles away. The bike course conveniently circles the area where my parents live, so I’ll hopefully go ring the cowbell a few times as she flies by. Then I will head into downtown Boulder in the afternoon to sit in a lawn chair near the marathon course. We hope she’ll be finishing around 6:00 p.m. Long day.

We are both eager for this feat to be done. It has demanded MANY hours of training, a seemingly infinite number of snacks, meals, desserts, and energy-food products, and more hours of sleep (to recover) than I could possibly count. Plus, the general stress of it is wearing on our nerves. We had a minor disagreement about who would be doing which dog walks today, which is something we never feel burdened about. Truthfully, I’m really proud of her for her determination and motivation. However she finishes, it will be an incredible accomplishment.

Here are a few photos from a half-ironman she did earlier this year.

mms_img-437114689 She would be so peeved if she knew I posted this photo of her taken at 5:00 a.m., haha. Cute sleepy face!!

mms_img516924435Wish her luck this weekend. I’ll let you know how she did next week!

11 responses

  1. Oh my goodness so much luck. People who complete the Ironman always amaze me. My wife has been at the finish line watching in Idaho a few times and says it is the most amazing thing to watch. Especially when it is near the cut off and you know those people are giving it everything that they have left.

    • I know it – I have to admit that I do get teary watching some people cross the finish line. Especially when they are clearly struggling and the crowd or their family are cheering so hard. It’s amazing.

Leave a Reply

