Typical

Well, I’ve enjoyed nearly six months of very regular cycles while we waited for the opportunity to try again. And of course, now that we are approaching the next attempt, my period is nowhere to be seen. I’m on CD 31, and I don’t feel anything coming. I have been enjoying cycles of 28 days, but historically they have stretched up to about 35 days. I guess this is one of the long ones. I have no idea why some are longer than others.

Most importantly, I don’t want it to start Thursday or Friday, because I need to have the CD3 bloodwork done again. If CD3 falls on a weekend, I have to drive over an hour to another clinic location, because the nearby clinic won’t be open. Now that I write that, I wonder what is going to happen if I ovulate on a weekend, and the sperms are shipped to the nearby clinic. I’ll have to ask about that…

Least importantly, I just want to get this show on the road. Am I starting to sound like a broken record? Shoot.

In other news, we had a very busy weekend. We went to a music festival on Friday and Sunday. It’s an annual tradition that we share with one of my closest friends and his wife. We couldn’t attend Saturday because we went to a wedding. I’ll write more about that later – it was really beautiful.

The artists at the festival were very diverse, and really entertaining. I learned from Peter Yarrow (of Peter, Paul and Mary) that he actually had not yet encountered marijuana when he wrote Puff the Magic Dragon. So the rumors are false. We also learned that Sufjan Steven’s parents were failed hippie cult members, and they later apologized to him for his esoteric first name. And we were absolutely inspired by Shane Koyczan. Shane is a spoken word poet, and while that is not usually my favorite genre, he was truly amazing. Google him. And my absolute favorites were the Wood Brothers. I cannot get enough of them.

Regrettably, this is the only picture I took:

mms_img1122809737What are your favorite music festivals? Do you attend with family, friends, or spouses? Do you camp? Any annual traditions?

3 responses

  1. They’ll have a courier get your sperm to the correct clinic. Usually they move everything to the weekend clinic on Friday to prepare for the almost there ovulators. Good luck!

  2. I feel like the majority of TTC people that I know had super regular cycles until they were ready to make a baby– then our bodies just rebel and are like, “YOU THINK YOU KNOW ME?” The one medicated cycle that we did was almost a relief because my cycle was in the hands of medicine and not my problem anymore.

Leave a Reply

