HSG & Bilirubin

I had the HSG test yesterday. Ridiculously, the office made me come in an hour early to take a pregnancy test. I assured them that there was no possible way that I was pregnant, and the woman at the desk looked at me pityingly. I guess she assumed I’m straight and haven’t had sex in a really long time.

The HSG test was uneventful. A nurse explained the whole process while I nodded along. She asked me how I know so much about the procedure, and I wanted to say “my blogging friends have told me about it,” but I just said “I’m a good researcher.”

The man (x-ray technician?) who inserted the catheter and dye seemed very skilled. There was really no pain with that part. I could feel the dye entering my uterus, and it felt like very mild period cramps. I watched the monitor as the dye leaked in. It quickly flowed through the right fallopian tube. He had me roll slightly to my left, and then it flowed out my left fallopian tube. He thankfully then removed the catheter and speculum. I sat up and let some of the dye drain out onto a puppy pad they had me sitting on. I asked if both tubes were clear, and he said “both tubes are clear!” After I changed and put on a diaper-like sanitary pad, they gave me a CD of the images for my RE. I think the whole thing took about 10 minutes. One interesting note is that later in the day I had TONS of EWCM. I almost never see any, so I was surprised. I guess the dye washed it down out of my cervix, where it must usually hide. It was CD9, so it seems a little early, but not completely off target.

I didn’t take any ibuprofen, though they recommended 800mg. I actually don’t think I’ve ever taken 800mg in one dosage. I might have taken one or two pills, but as I was on my way to the HSG test, the RE’s office called to give me more test results. They said everything looked great, except my bilirubin and liver enzymes were elevated. They want to re-test them. Those numbers are elevated by alcohol, obesity, diabetes, and over the counter pain medication. Well, they drew the blood on CD3, and I definitely had taken 2-3 aleve over the preceding two days for cramps/headache that accompany a period. The aleve would definitely elevate those numbers. I really wish they would have told me beforehand they were testing that and avoiding those things would give a more accurate measure. So, late next week I have to have another blood draw. Curiously, this time they are doing it through my own insurance/doctor, so it should be relatively cheap. It makes me very angry that they didn’t do the whole first round of tests through my own doctor/insurance, because I’m positive the tests would have cost less than through their own lab.

One other thing that caught my attention was that my AMH was 5.1. The nurse said it was “fantastic” and they want to see something higher than 1.5. She failed to mention that an AMH level that high could indicate PCOS. My slightly long cycles (up to 35 days) and a few other very minor signs (in addition to the fact that we haven’t successfully gotten pregnant) suggest to me that I might have mild PCOS. I’m okay with that, because I think it’s pretty manageable. It will be interesting to hear what the doctor says about all of these results. I know he’s going to push Clomid, and probably a trigger shot. We meet with him on the 10th to develop a “plan.” Meanwhile, I’ll be not drinking alcohol, not taking any NSAIDs, and scheduling another bilirubin test.

8 responses

  1. Yay!! It sounds like it went extremely well. I was diagnosed with PCOS. It is very common, and your right the usual treatment is clomid, possibly accompanied by a trigger shot. If your tubes are clear I say your super good on the baby making home front. I wish they would hurry along, it seems like they are really dragging it along. With my diagnosis, they had prescribed me clomid within a few weeks of my hsg test. I’m thinking within the first few tries you’ll achieve pregnancy. That’s great news my friend

  2. I am not sure which Dr. you saw but I know that most of them there lack bedside manner. Also, you are using one of the top three fertility clinics in the world. They see the toughest of the tough cases so they often struggle with the “lack of male factor” dx. I think one nurse told me 70% of their cases are out of state or out of country. We were always the lone lesbians in the office when we were there. Having gone through it there, twice, I would suggest standing your ground. If you want to give it a couple cycles without Clomid, go for it. Also, I would ask for the requirements for sperm. I know they will not allow the use of sperm if the person did not do karyotype testing. If the donor is gay, you just have to sign a release that says you are aware you are using sperm from a gay male and the FDA does not recommend it. I think the karyotype is the main test that only the big clinics do. This clinic strongly pushes California and Fairfax bank so make sure the bank you are using does all the testing the clinic requires. But I would still push to get the Cali. guys sperm out here. And you can ship it directly to your house and then just drop it off in the basement. That’s what we did. We were going to use a known donor and have them go through a bank and the Dr. we saw there did not ask any of those questions. He just explained the process and that it would be a 6 month wait. Feel free to email if you have any questions. I know A LOT about that place and their approach.

  3. I have probably minor PCOS as well. Used clomid and trigger and Shabam! It worked. I would recommend asking for ultrasound monitoring (if it’s not more cost) instead of blood. For me, it was the only way to tell when to trigger as my cycles were like yours and blood never showed accurate levels.

Leave a Reply

