Waiting for CD 1, Again!

Well, it feels like it’s been WEEKS of doctor appointments without any real progress, but we seem to be finally heading toward our first medicated IUI. To recap, I had all of the initial blood work on CD 3 (one month ago), the clear HSG test about a week later, and an ultrasound to see that my uterus and ovaries look fine. The blood work turned up elevated bilirubin, which is very common, but the ultra-conservative RE would not move forward until my PCP cleared my liver. So, I ended up having another ultrasound on my liver, plus a series of blood tests including hepatitis and many other liver details, which I won’t pretend to understand. Much to my great appreciation, my PCP scheduled my tests and cleared my liver in about 72 hours flat. He was a champ. We then met with the RE and “developed a plan” (read: he told us what we are going to do).

The Plan: 100 mg clomid on CD 3-7, monitoring ultrasound, HCG trigger shot, insem 36 hours later. Seems to be pretty standard procedure around these parts. N and I are a little apprehensive about that dosage of clomid, because I have 40+ resting follicles, so I feel like there is a high likelihood of twins. Or more. Let me go a step further and say that I almost expect there to be multiples. Which, frankly, I am okay with. I am nervous, because it means the higher likelihood of complications, but I would be thrilled to get a couple kids having to only have one pregnancy!! N would be much less thrilled… The RE will cancel the cycle if there are more than 4 follicles. Or maybe he said “four or more.” I’m not sure, but either measure is fine by me. On the bright side, the RE told us the chances of conceiving with this plan are 45% the first cycle, 15% the second cycle, and 5% the third cycle. I’ll take those odds.

So here I am, on CD 29, waiting for my period. It should show up any time now. And then we will FINALLY get started on trying again. Our last shot was an unmedicated/unmonitored IUI in February. It feels like we’ve been waiting forever.

Between the 10,421 doctor appointments I’ve had in the last month, I’ve also had a few dentist appointments. I hate going to the dentist with unbridled passion. Yet, I was blessed with teeth made of chalk, so I have fillings or crowns on nearly every tooth. I promise, I am a really good brusher/flosser, but somehow, these suckers keep rotting away. God help my future children – I’m going to enforce dental hygiene like a prison guard monitors inmates popping their meds. “Open up, tongue up, tongue left, tongue right, cough.”

Around the blogosphere, I’m super excited to see a few positive HPTs popping up! It seems like a new round of babies are just starting their gestational journey, on the tails of the adorable bundles who were just born! Cant’ wait to get some weekly updates from you newly preggo ladies!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

