Second Beta and Belly Shots

Beta 2: 2698 (20 DPO)
Thyroid: 2.68

The beta is doubling quickly – 27.91 hours. I don’t really know what that means, but I’m taking it as good news. The bad news is that my thyroid is slightly elevated. The nurse is going to call back later today to let me know if we’re going to do anything about it or just monitor it.

On Tuesday, my wife and I shared this exchange:
Me: On Thursday, I need you to start taking my belly shots.Her: Why?
Me: Because that is when the weeks turn over.
Her: But why do we have to take photos of it?
Me: For fun. To see the growth.
Her: Huh. I’m not going to do that when I’m pregnant.

Needless to say, I did not recruit her to take them this morning (Week 5). I resorted to the bathroom mirror. I felt awkward and silly, maybe because I don’t even take photos in swimsuits, let alone of myself. I also couldn’t figure out whether to smile or not…at myself. I still have a little bit of bloating, but not as much as earlier this week. It’s obviously about 4 months too early for any signs of pregnancy, but I’m keeping it as a baseline. Without further ado:mms_img1370992687

I kind of love my dog looking at me in this one like, “WTF are you doing, mommy?” She was waiting for her walk…

mms_img61513299.jpg

As far as symptoms, I don’t have many to report. The very active pinching/pulling that occurred during 17 DPO has passed. Yesterday evening I got a sharp pulling sensation slightly on my right side below my abdomen. I’m assuming it’s my uterus stretching a bit. No nausea, thankfully. I have been EXHAUSTED by 8:00 p.m. every night, and I’m having to pee in the middle of the night, which is unusual for me. I’ve also been famished, which is the progesterone. I get really hungry before my period every month, when my progesterone is high, so it’s a familiar feeling. I’m really trying to resist eating everything in sight, for obvious reasons.

12 responses

  1. You would totally regret NOT taking belly pictures. Your tiny so you’ll probably show sooner than others. At least that was my case, I also have a tiny torso at 4’11. Your dog photobombed your belly shot, that will make for a cute picture later.

  2. Great doubling! Mine was in the high 20s at first too, then it slows down as it gets further along. DW kept forgetting to take mine so I stopped bothering after a while, and just do mirror shots on my own every couple weeks (more often now, as I seem to be ballooning so much from day to day!).

  3. Cute photos! I suggest eating whatever you want right now in preparation for possibly not wanting to eat anything in a few weeks. I was always starving at first and then when 6 weeks hit, boom – just the thought of food grossed me out. Now I’m back to wanting to eat everything in sight.

Leave a Reply

