Thanksgiving Travels and Week 6

We spent a long week in California for a cousin’s wedding on the 21st and then stayed through Thanksgiving. It was good to get away, but it was also a long time to be away from home and our dogs.

mms_img-1231526285.jpg

While we were there, we visited Morro Bay for a few days, just to get a little ocean time. We also ran a 5K Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving. We visited the gym a few times, and ran/walked outside a couple of times. Other than exercise, we ate, chatted with family, caught up with a few friends, did a little shopping, and watched a few Christmas movies. It was pretty low-key, but enjoyable.

mms_img-1792583103.jpg

Week six of pregnancy arrived with a few small symptoms, but nothing major. I’m currently 6w, 4d. To be honest, it feels like being a toddler. I’m cranky or irritable at least once a day for no real reason. I get desperately hungry in a matter of seconds, but then nothing sounds appealing. I can fall asleep anywhere. I can eat a regular meal, then feel too full/queasy immediately afterward, like I haven’t learned how to regulate my own eating. I want to be close/cuddle, but within minutes I don’t want anything touching me. I fall asleep quickly, but then I wake up several times each night, which is very unusual for me.

On the whole, I’m grateful not to be having morning sickness, though I do get a faint whiff of nausea sometimes during the day, especially if I go too long without eating. I’ve had the energy to exercise most days, but I also need a short nap most afternoons. I am eating eggs and peanut butter like crazy (not together). I seriously can’t get enough of them. I didn’t know pregnancy cravings came so early. I’ve also had cravings for huge green salads, oranges, and chocolate.

My biggest burden is the mental/emotional strain of hoping and wondering. I assume everything is going well down there, because my body isn’t giving me any signs that it’s not, but it’s still unnerving to have no idea. I know early complications are so, so common, so I’m trying to stay grounded, yet optimistic. It’s also been surprisingly challenging finding a work load at the gym that is manageable, yet challenging. I don’t want to overdo it, but I don’t enjoy feeling like I’m just going through the motions. I also don’t want to start packing on weight because I’m doing less than I was before, yet eating about the same. Blah.

Week 7 is creeping up on us. Every single morning I re-count the days and bask in being one day closer to the end of the first trimester. I’m also looking forward to our first prenatal appointment, which will be four weeks from today. I don’t know if they will do an ultrasound or just Doppler, but I’m sure it will be interesting and enlightening.

I’m enjoying reading everyone’s updates – so many new ultrasound profiles and mamas nearing the end of the wait! As always, I love seeing the photos of the little ones who have been here for years.

mms_img-587682317.jpg

4 responses

  1. It’s a good thing you specified that the eggs and peanut butter are eaten separately :p that would have been super gross.
    Congrats on being almost 7 weeks! As an outsider, the time really flies. But I’m sure it feels a lot slower on the inside!

  2. Ha ha, my wife was actually big on eggs and peanut butter together when she was in her first trimester. She had gasp-gasp for lunch every day for a few weeks.

    Glad to hear you’re not too nauseous! Hope all continues to go well!

  3. Almost 7 weeks already!! I hear you on the struggle to maintain your level of physical fitness. Supposedly, you can continue working out at the same level until the third trimester if all is going well with the pregnancy. I was usually able to continue running and lifting up until about 10 weeks (when the morning sickness really kicked in) and then resumed low intensity work outs at 25 weeks. Fingers crossed you get lucky in the morning sickness department!

Leave a Reply

