Kombucha

Completely unrelated to pregnancy or parenting of children, I’m now “raising” a jar of kombucha. I’ve been super annoying about it – wanting my wife to leave one of the kitchen lights on over the sink because it warms the area juuuuust enough, not wanting the jar to get jostled, peering in at it 6 times a day to see how much it is bubbling. I’m a little obsessed, and SO excited. I pay like $3.50 for a bottle of this stuff from the store, so I typically have one every few weeks or so. Soon? I’ll be drinking it daily! I can’t wait to start experimenting with flavors.

When we lived in Eugene, Oregon, I thought folks were nuts for trying to brew their own kombucha at home. Mind you, I’d just moved from Vail, where such granola crunchiness was not en vogue. Now? I’m thinking, why didn’t I start this sooner! Next up…sauerkraut. Yay, home fermenting!

IMG_1959.JPG

And for fun, here’s a picture of my kid choosing her own eggs from the dozen my mom’s chickens just produced. Don’t we sound like hippies?!IMG_1344.JPG

8 responses

  1. Yum! I love kombucha. I tried making it in AZ but the microbes there were just off. Everything we tried to ferment was a bit wonk there.
    I hope yours grows beautifully and is delish to boot.
    Definitely not jealous of your home grown (laid?) eggs…

  2. I love fermenting stuff! I was an avid kombucha, sauerkraut, kimchi, kefir, and yogurt maker for a while (pre-baby) and also did some other things like fermenting beets for borscht (delicious). Have you come across the book Wild Fermentations? It’s pretty awesome for the recipes and also the stories – it’s written by an HIV-positive man who credits fermentation for his good health. (Also, he lives in an awesome commune that I’m totally jealous of.)

  3. Very cool! I’d love to try making kombucha. I make Kimchi and the smell of fermenting cabbage and spices is sooo good. Fermenting scares some people, but it’s so tasty and good for you!

Leave a Reply

